The Grand Priory of the Knights Beneficent of 
The Holy City of the Rectified Scottish Rite of England and Wales

Rt Rev Knight David J Walters KBHC
Prefect for the Heart of England

Lodges Meeting in Northamptonshire & Huntingdonshire

No 6  St Bernard of Clairvaux  Peterborough

Information about the Order

This distinguished Rite is the oldest Masonic Order of Christian Knighthood having evolved from the Rite of Strict Observance established in Germany 1752, which claimed that Freemasonry was derived from the Medieval Templers. In 1778 The Convent of Gaules held in Lyons in France tried to establish an acceptable structure for the future. In 1782 the Order was reformed into the Rectified Scottish Rite from which was to emerge the Knights Beneficent of the Holy City. The Order however became dormant and by 1885 the Grand Priory of Helvetia was the only surviving body and became the Sovereign Authority of the rectified Scottish Rite.

By the turn of the century Grand Priory investigated the possibility of chartering new bodies and consequently in 1910 the Lodge le Centre des Amis was re-opened and subsequently other Great Priories were established including the Great Priory of England on the 2nd April 1937.

Admission was strictly limited with entry only bestowed on the most eminent Knights Templar within Great Priory and membership never exceeded 9 and up until the 1990’s only 27 Brethren had been privileged to receive the accolade. The Prefectory of St George of London No 1 was the only Prefectory operating in England, but in November 2006 following an official visit to Belgium the then Grand Master it was resolved the Rite should be expanded. An Executive Council was appointed to carefully manage the expansion of the Order and St James Lodge No 2 of Scottish Masters of St Andrew was consecrated on the 1 May 2007 and proceeded to admit Senior Knights Templar from England and Wales.

On the 13 December 2007 the Grand Master consecrated 4 Prefectures each with 3 constituent Lodges of Scottish Masters of St Andrew and Regional Grand Prefects were appointed and installed.

Admission to the rectified Scottish Rite is by invitation only and admits only Christian Brethren of the highest calibre who have demonstrated an outstanding level of commitment to Freemasonry.

The system of Grades or Degrees

4° Scottish Master of St Andrew

Candidates are admitted into a Lodge of St Andrew on at least two occasions each year and the ultimate objective is to progress to the Chair as Worshipful Deputy Master. A minimum period of two years as a Scottish Master is required before advancement is considered.

5°Squire Novice

This is the portal of the Inner Order and again the minimum of two years service is required as a Novice before advancement is considered. An impeccable record of continuous attendance is also as essential qualification. Novices are required to familiarise themselves with the question of Heraldry and Arms as an essential pre-requisite for possible advancement.

6°Knight Beneficent of the Holy City

promotion to this Order is only warranted by outstanding contributions to the Order and is the sole prerogative of the Grand Master and is only bestowed by him or his appointed representative. The Ceremonies of Investiture, Dubbing and Consecration are derived from the general orders of chivalry.

The admission to the Order is by invitation only from the Regional Prefect. The Heart of England Prefecture covers the middle band of England from the Wash to the Welsh Border and the 3 Lodges of St Andrew meeting within the Prefecture are at Peterborough (St Bernard of Clairvaux) Edgbaston and Long Easton.

More information can be obtained from the Secretary.

The United Grand Lodge of England (UGLE) is the home of Freemasonry in England, Wales, the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man and a number of Districts overseas.

There are many resources available to help you decide whether Freemasonry is for you.

Click the title to find out more.

The Northants & Hunts New and Young Masons Club (NHNYMC) helps new Masons meet, enjoy social events, share ideas, and contribute towards the future of Freemasonry.